During the Symposium several excursions will be organized for the accompanying persons.
The National Museum of the Republic of Tatarstan
The National Museum of the Republic of Tatarstan is the biggest research, cultural and education center of the Republic of Tatarstan. It was founded as the Kazan scientific and industrial museum in 1894. The museum has many valuable collections such as the Bulgar collection, collection of findings from Ananinski tombs, Egypt collection, antique collection, and collection of golden coins, collection of ancient rolls of the 18th century, collection of hand-written books of the 15th 20th centuries, collection of the memorial belongings of Tatar literary men, collection of Tatar Arts. The museum funds hold over 790 thousand of antiques and systematically spans all regional history. It is valuable for learning of history of nations of the Volga and Ural regions including the history of Turkic nations. Moreover the funds keep the relics and remains of the Ancient civilizations, Western and Eastern World Culture.
Konstantin Vasiliev Memorial Museum
Konstantin Vasiliev (1942-1976) is a famous Russian painter who produced more than some hundred works; the great part of them is in his house-museum in Vasilievo, picture gallery in Kazan and museum in Moscow, named after him. Some dozens of his paintings are in private collections and 80 works are exposed in the Kazan Memorial Museum.
The Raifa Holy Virgin Monastery
The Monastery was founded in XVII century. It is situated 25 km from Kazan on the territory of the Volga and Kama state natural reserve (Raifa district), a nature-oriented, research, ecological and educational center, which was organized in 1960 with the aim of the Volga unique natural ecosystems preservation. The Monastery has one of the most honored Christian icons: the icon of God's Mother of Georgia. The Chronicles of 1698 say that the icon works miracles and has a curative effect.
The city-island Sviyazhsk
Sviyazhsk was founded on May 24, 1551 by the Russian Tsar Ivan the Terrible. It was the first orthodox city in the Volga region that had great influence on religious and material culture dissemination. Building of Sviyazhsk is an outstanding event in the history of Russian town-planning. Cut in the forests of central Russia one-thousand km away from the island, it was pulled down and delivered on rafts by Volga to the mouth of Sviyaga-river (25 km from Kazan) and assembled here in 4 weeks, only. The Sviyazhsk-fortress became the first-class fortification construction of its time. Sviyazhsk is unique in its architecture of XVI century; The ensemble of former city buildings includes the works of architects Postnik Iakovlev and Ivan Shiryaj such as the Assumption Monastery, the greatest pearl of Sviyazhsk architecture. In 1990 Sviyazhsk was included into the new List of historical cities and residence places as a unique historical and cultural complex of XVI-XX centuries. In 1996 it was included into the preliminary List of World Cultural Heritage UNESCO in history, urban planning, architecture, icons and fresco painting, archeology, natural anthropogenic landscape. There are 21 monuments with federal status such as the Assumption Monastery and the Ioann-Predtechensky Nunnery, the Assumption Cathedral, the Holy Virgin Cathedral, the Troitskaya, Nikolskaya, Sergievskaya, Holy Konstantine's and Elena's Churches. The planning structure of Sviyazsk is still well reserved.